Life of Pi by Yann Martel

Rating: ***** (5 out of 5)

Review: After reading this I realized one thing. It is much easier to write a review about a book you didn’t like than about one that deeply touched you.

For once I’m not going to describe the plot, since I can’t think of a way to do it without over simplifying it. Suffice to say that “Life of Pi” may not be for everyone – it’s not, after all, just a simple story, and at times it’s closer to philosophy than fiction – but in the right state of mind, it can be breathtaking. It certainly was for me.

This book is about transformation, faith, humanity, survival. The writing is beautiful, equal parts crude and delicate. I honestly can’t think of anything else to say other than “read with an open mind”. Highly recommended.

3 thoughts on “Life of Pi by Yann Martel

  1. I do understand that some books are truly hard to describe without feeling that one is not giving it all the credit it deserves. After checking your review I felt like reading the book but I was left with a doubt: what is the plot about? Can you tell me at least the plot line, what the author talks about, in what kind of story he intertwines the philosophy he seems to want to transmit to the reader?

    • Certainly! The “plot” is thus: Pi, a boy from India whose family owns a zoo, finds himself stranded in a rescue raft at sea, after the ship in which his family was traveling to Canada sunk. They were taking a few of the zoo animals with them, and chance has it that a tiger makes it to the raft with Pi. It’s a battle for survival, basically.

      The reason why I didn’t go into it is because much of the book is spent on other things. But it’s worth it, I’ll lend it to you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

