Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Rating: **** (4 out of 5)

Review: Even though I’m usually one of those people who won’t watch a movie until she’s read the book(s) it’s based on, I did the opposite with Scott Pilgrim. I watched the movie first. I actually really liked it, but it did dampen my enthusiasm somewhat as I was reading this book, because, understandably, not a lot of it surprised me.

But, first things first. Scott Pilgrim is a 23 year-old guy from Toronto, Canada, who has the perfect life. He’s in a rock band with his friends, between jobs, and dating a high-school girl. Then Ramona Flowers, a delivery girl on rollerblades, comes into his life.

I liked how honest and funny this was. Ramona’s interesting, confident personality is a nice contrast to Knives’s innocent and childish demeanor. The artwork and storytelling were simple, but different enough to keep me interesting. Still, this feels very much like the beginning of the story. At least it’s a fast read and makes me want to read the others right away.

Recommended!

Leave a Reply

