The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy & Other Stories by Tim Burton

Rating: *** (3 out of 5)

Background: I bought this on sale, very cheap, much cheaper than I would have expected, being from such a well-known person as Tim Burton is. The cover is lovely, and flipping through the pages made me curious.

Review: This is a collection of short stories in the form of poems and illustrations, and they all follow children who happened to be born different. Unnaturally different. The stories are tragic, sometimes cruel, but they all have a little humor thrown into them, so that the result is quite charming. My favourite story is the one that gives the book its name, the one featuring Oyster Boy.

This was an okay book for me. I preferred the illustrations over the poems, since I didn’t find them all that special or brilliant (even though there were plenty of metaphors for real world situations). Still, this is a pretty little book that is worth having, specially if you like Tim Burton, though I’m not sure I’d recommend it to someone who isn’t familiar with his work.

What’s Next: I like some of Tim Burton’s film works, but even so, reading this book didn’t make me feel more curious towards his other types of works…

I’m thinking of dedicating the whole of next week solely to reading comics. I have so many waiting for me on the shelf that it’s getting ridiculous. So, starting tomorrow, I’m officially dictating Comic Book Reading Week. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

