Free Comic Book Day At Mundo Fantasma

Yesterday was Free Comic Book Day at Mundo Fantasma, which is (in my opinion) the best place in Porto to go for comic books. The staff is really friendly and knowledgeable, and you can’t beat their selection.

They were also hosting an exhibition by twin Brazilian artists Fábio Moon and Gabriel Bá (see the shop’s blog entry about it here). We got one of the books that was up for the signing, the first issue of The Umbrella Academy, written by Gerard Way of the band My Chemical Romance (did you know he wrote comic books? Me neither!) and illustrated by Gabriel Bá. I haven’t read it yet, but it looks amazing. We also got Kabuki: Dreams by David Mack and the original Sandman: Dream Hunters by Neil Gaiman and Yoshitaka Amano, both mind-blowingly gorgeous (seriously, look at that shiny golden cover!).

Since it was Free Comic Book Day, we also got a plethora of free issues:

These, I must admit, were chosen randomly since I had never heard of any of them. But they were free, so you can’t really go wrong there.

Yesterday was also the opening day for the annual Feira do Livro in Porto. I haven’t been there yet, but am a bit disappointed at the lack of scheduled activities beyond author signings and lectures. I was half hoping we’d get interesting workshops like in the Funchal fair… But I’ll still be visiting to check it out.

I’ll end this post with a picture of the signature Gabriel Bá made on our book (dedicated to my boyfriend Ricardo since he was the one who stood in line to meet him). Pretty awesome.

UPDATE: Check out some photos from the inauguration here.

One thought on “Free Comic Book Day At Mundo Fantasma

  1. […] Back in June, I had the pleasure of meeting Gabriel Bá and his twin brother Fábio Moon in the opening of their exhibition at Mundo Fantasma, our local comic book shop. I had never heard […]

Leave a Reply

