To-Read Shelf: 28/03/10

I turned 25 years-old last Thursday, the 25th of March. With the birthday came a couple of additions for my to-read pile (one of which I am already reading and will be raving about later in the week) so here is a short update.

At the top of this post you can see Pictures That (Tick) by Dave McKean (near the lovely orchids which I also got as a present), which I have to say is a fantastically beautiful book which I am completely in awe of. I’ll be saving my thoughts for the review, but I can tell you it was a really nice surprise.

Next up is the Sookie Stackhouse collection by Charlaine Harris, which I bought after fruitlessly searching for Dream Hunters at two different big chain bookshops. As an aside, I won’t say which, but one of them had staff that had never even heard of the book – which is bad in my opinion when you’re a dedicated bookstore (specially when the store next door that also sells computers and games has staff that even remembered the color of the book’s cover). Moving on. This boxed set includes Dead Until Dark, Living Dead in Dallas, Club Dead, Dead to the World, Dead as a Doornail, Definitely Dead, and All Together Dead. Yes, that is a lot of “Dead”. I find the names rather curious in a funny way. The cover art is kind of baffling also, not much to my taste to be honest, but at least they’re not the new ones, which feature desaturated photographs of the characters from the TV series.

By the way, I don’t follow True Blood (I’ve only ever watched the first episode) so no danger of spoilers anywhere for me. I’m not sure what to expect from the series, but it’s been a while since I’ve read any vampire books. Actually, I think that the last one I read was Dracula. Maybe I’m just old-fashioned, but that book is awesome.

Anyway, all ramblings aside, expect a review of Dave McKean’s book soon.

Leave a Reply

