Everyone Gets Rejected at Some Point

While I’m busy trying to finish Irrationality (some outdated ideas there – the book came out in 1992, and it shows) and diving into my Amazon wishlist to select the books for my next spree (with an emphasis on art books this time), I thought I’d share a link that I came across at LitDrift, entitled 30 Famous Authors whose works were rejected (repeatedly, and sometimes rudely) by publishers. My personal favourite:

8. George Orwell
One publisher rejected Mr. Orwell’s submission, Animal Farm, with these words:
“It is impossible to sell animal stories in the USA.”

Priceless.

Sometimes it might look like things come easy for everyone except ourselves. It’s great to be reminded that everyone has to overcome barriers in life.

Leave a Reply

